Repost: 3 Reasons Why Telephone Voice Over Jobs Rock

I found this article through one of my Twitter feeds.  I’m reposting it here because I’ve been going out on a lot of auditions for these “telephony” type jobs lately.  If you’re following my blog and my career, you might find the article interesting.

I’m surprised to learn that telephony can be considered “entry-level” work.  I already have one regular telephony client and I have to say, the work can be quite demanding.  You have to convey a smile in your voice without sounding too perky.  You have to remain friendly and informational even as you’re saying, “I’m sorry, I didn’t understand you,” over and over again.  (And if you’re me, you know exactly what it’s like to be on the receiving end of that phrase and you know how freaking annoying it is to hear it and now you have to say it as politely as you can while knowing that you’re driving someone crazy!)  You have to be consistent as you say different days, hours, numbers, etc., and keep the exact same tone and inflection with each repetition.  Plus you have to have very clear diction and pronunciation without sounding too precise; it has to remain conversational.  The recording hours are long; it can be 4 hours a day 3 to 5 days a week.  Trust me, it’s exhausting to talk non-stop for 4 hours.

The nice thing is, it’s fairly steady work.  The job I have is for a large company and there are literally hundreds of phone prompts.  When I first started, I was in the studio for many days and now the updates happen every 4 to 6 months.  It’s great!

Right now, I’m under consideration for two other telephony gigs.  I’m hoping I get one or both!  I’ll keep you posted.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

