My First Comic-Con Pt. 1

I have a confession: I’m not a nerd. Or a geek. I don’t read comic books or xkcd or Penny Arcade. I’m not good at math. I don’t know if Kirk, Picard, or Janeway was the better captain. RPGs confuse me, MMORPGs even more so. I have never, nor will I EVER play Dungeons and Dragons or Settlers of Catan. Cosplay seems like a lot of work. I’ve never read Batman: Year One or The Killing Joke.

The little nerd cred I do have: I was good at biology and chemistry. I love playing video games, especially Tekken, Gran Turismo, and Halo. I go nuts for Japanimation but I’m not exactly an aficionado. (Though I have seen EVERY episode of the Sailor Moon series, even the final season that was only in Japanese with no English dubbing or subtitles.) I can quote Episodes IV – VI practically verbatim. I’ve been to w00tstock 3 years in a row and I just recently attended v3.0 in San Diego during Comic-Con. What was I doing at Comic-Con if I have no nerd cred? CARTOONS. I freaking love cartoons. And cartoons need voice actors! And there were pah-lenty of voice actors at Comic-Con.

Tangent: Last year, I sat in on a Garfield recording session directed by Mark Evanier. I went with my friend Chuck who planned on going to Comic-Con but was only able to get Thursday and Sunday tickets. (I was at a wedding in Ohio when tickets went on sale and didn’t realize they would sellout so quickly!!) Mark offered to set him up with a 4-day pass. I really wanted to ask for a pass as well, but didn’t feel right about it. Not only did Chuck get a 4-day pass, but he also got to be Stan Freberg‘s personal assistant while he was there! Color me incredibly jealous. I really wanted to go to Comic-Con!

This year I finally made it and I think I went during the best year EVAR! Before we (my Audio Engineer Husband and I) left, we checked the schedule and we flagged all the panels we wanted to see. We flagged waaaayy more than we could ever hope to actually attend; there were so many choices! We knew we were just going to have to get to the Con and take things as they came. Thursday, we picked up our badges and our giant Comic-Con bags and headed out! Once we got to the Convention Center and I saw the ha-UGE number of people, I immediately started re-evaluating which panels were the “must see” panels. For Thursday, it was Archer and Batman: Arkham City. We started off on the exhibit floor and I tried to make sense of the wash of booths, costumes, video screens, toys, and comics all vying for my attention.

Cia and Dino Andrade

One of the first booths I stopped at was the Soul Geek booth. I’ve had the pleasure of interacting with Dino Andrade on the Twitters and wanted to finally meet him in person. He was great, and through him I met Phil Proctor (Finding Nemo, Monsters Inc.) and Rikki Simons (Invader Zim)! What a great start to Comic-Con! I had a hard time tearing myself away from the booth but I was getting in the way of the other fans who wanted autographs.

We continued walking the floor when my AEH spotted the Robot Chicken crew (Matthew Senreich, Tom Root, and Seth Green) at the Adult Swim booth! There was a line of 20 or so people waiting for autographs and we jumped in for our turn! After a few minutes, one of the booth wranglers, a man named Damon, informed us that they had previously given out tickets to 100 or so people and they were already waiting in line across from the booth and along the wall. We looked over and saw a loooong line of people. We asked if there were more tickets. No, there were not. We would have to move on.

Cia and Seth Green

Damon must have seen the crestfallen look on my face because he pulled us aside, told us to wait quietly out of the way, and he’d see if he could get us in after everyone else. Squee! We waited quietly and patiently and watched many other people come up to the booth exactly as we had and get politely turned away. After a relatively short period of time (of course, in my state of excitement I had no concept of time) Damon discreetly gave us a ticket and pulled us into line. I was going to meet Seth Green! I proudly flashed my ticket, clutched in my fingers, as we inched our way toward the table. First up, Matt Senreich. I pulled out my iPhone and my Photobooth app daring to hope for some funny poses. I was not disappointed! (Another tangent: I have a tendency to get starstruck and say the stupidest things when I meet people who are important to me, so I tried to keep my mouth shut and just appear witty and fun.) Next up, Tom Root, who kept his face expressionless in all 4 Photobooth shots. Hilarious. 🙂 Finally, SETH GREEN! He chatted with my AEH, then gleefully handed my phone to Tom to take the pictures of us. It was so much fun! I got the feeling it was genuinely fun for Seth to meet each of his fans and pose for the many pictures they took with him. It was fun for us too, and thanks to Damon, this was one of my Top 3 experiences at Comic-Con. Even though he initially had to turn us away, Damon was so warm and personable and he ended up providing me with a very meaningful experience, not just meeting an actor I admire and hope to work with, but also treating me like a person and making me feel very special. Thank you so much Damon, Matt, Tom, and Seth. You guys rock.

Flying high from this experience, we left the floor to get some lunch and then came back to wait for the Archer panel. Based on the chatter we heard around us, there were a LOT of people that wanted to make the Archer panel so we knew we needed to get there early. We caught the tail-end of the Mortal Kombat: Legacy panel (which looked super cool, btw!) and sat through Effin with Tonight, a panel about a new animated late night talk show hosted by… Patrick Warburton! Without realizing it, I stumbled on a panel featuring Patrick Warburton and Joe Cipriano! The show is trying to re-imagine late night television and animation and it looks interesting. I’ll be checking it out. Then, it was time for Archer!!

Seriously, if you’re not watching this show you need to be. This is one of the best animated shows on television right now. It is incredibly clever, well-written, and well-acted!! We were treated to a sneak peek of the Season 3 opener and holy sh!tsnacks is it gonna be good!! In September there’s going to be a 3-episode story arc and if episode 1 is any indication, it’s going to bah-low your f*cking mind. How does this show keep getting better and better?? Adam Reed is a freaking genius. Most of the major players were there: Adam Reed, H. Jon Benjamin, Aisha Tyler, Chris Parnell, Judy Greer, and Amber Nash. I could have listened to them talk for hours, they are such a talented cast. (Adam told a really funny story about Jessica Walters that made me seriously wish she was there too. Alas, scheduling conflict.) Mark my words people, it is my singular goal to be cast on this show. I belong on this show. I am one of the characters on this show! Their witty, sarcastic banter is my language. Adam, I think you should cast me as Lana’s younger sister, a love interest for Archer. Think about it.


Our last panel of the day was Batman: Arkham City. I was in the same room as Kevin Conroy and Mark Hamill!! The panel revealed Stana Katic as Talia al Ghul and frankly, I think she was just as excited to be in the room as all the panel attendees. She seemed a little startstruck by Kevin and Mark and I don’t blame her one little bit! They couldn’t reveal much about the game, but we did get to see a pretty bitchin’ trailer. During the panel, it was so awesome to watch the interplay between Kevin and Mark. You can tell they both admired each other greatly and that a strong friendship had grown from years of working together. They were humble, gracious, and incredibly proud to be a part of the Batman franchise.

And I think this post is going to have to end here. I was foolish to believe I could pack my entire Comic-Con experience into one post! Ha! You’ll have to wait until next time to hear all about w00tstock 3.0 and the Cartoon Voices panel. (That’s what we in the biz call a teaser.) Comic-Con really was an amazing experience. I wish I could bottle it and save it for all time. More later!

This entry was posted in Characters and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My First Comic-Con Pt. 1

  1. Pingback: Patrick Warburton vs. H. Jon Benjamin | Vox Bloggess

  2. Cia says:

    Seriously, what a waste of time. 😉

  3. Too bad you didn’t have any fun. 🙂

Leave a Reply

