A Job Well Done

When people ask me how I get booked for jobs, I tell them that voiceover is incredibly subjective. I’m submitting my audition alongside tens, if not hundreds, of other actors and we could each show incredible acting and voiceover skill but only one of us is going to get the job. Does that mean everyone else did it wrong? No. It just means that whoever booked the job resonated with the producer who cast it. As an actor, do I know which choices will resonate? NOPE! I just interpret the character, make my choices, and go! Today, subjectivity was on my side and I gotta admit, it felt pretty great.

I recently hired a new talent agent and as a result, I’m getting submitted on more and more character work. (It’s won-derful!) One video game audition only had 6 lines. 6 lines. The specs said the client hadn’t decided on a character yet but they wanted something young, cute, and excited. So I made with the young, cute, excitement and sent off my audition. (It was actually a really fun audition. If I did anything “right”, I would say it was just having a blast playing around and saying the lines for the sheer fun of it.) A couple days later, I find out I’ve been cast! Woohoo!

Today I went in to the recording session and I was so overwhelmed by what the creative director and producer told me. They said that they listened to all the auditions and that my voice really stood out as exactly what they were looking for. They said that my voice helped them visualize the character and that they started writing lines based on the character that I created. I was grateful that they were calling in to the session and weren’t there in person ’cause they probably would have been worried when I started tearing up a little bit. If you knew how often I’ve watched the DVD extras of animators talking about how such-and-such voice actor brought a character to life and inspired the animator’s work… and now someone was saying that about me! Talk about living my dreams!

The session was a lot of work. I had to maintain a pretty high-energy character for an hour. I was sweating by the time we were done. There were very few retakes and the clients were happy. I felt great. I was literally grinning from ear-to-ear as I walked out to my car. I felt so happy! I thought about how much I love my job, how much I love my new agent, how hard I’ve worked to get to this point, about all the jobs I’ve had in my life up to this point… NONE of them made me smile the way this job does. I am so, so, so grateful that I get to do something I love. I can’t wait to do more!

Of course, the nature of my job being what it is, I can’t tell you which game I worked on. At least not right now, but when it’s out, I’ll be shouting it from the rooftops and sharing it with you! For now, I’m just basking in the glow of a job well done.


This entry was posted in Video Games and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Job Well Done

  1. Cia says:

    Thanks Michele and Bryan!

  2. Bryan Saulsbury says:

    Awesome!!! All the hard work is paying off, and you deserve it!

  3. michele says:

    very interesting to read and exciting for you. cool. and thanks for writing about it!

  4. Cia says:

    Thanks Pamela, it feels really good. 🙂

  5. Cia! What wonderful news! Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

