Somebodies

Oh look! It’s another post that has nothing to do with voiceover! What can I say, as much as I love it, I have other things in my life too.

In my radio days, I used to be a Music Director, which means I had a big say in which bands we played on the air. I had a naturally good ear for a hit (and still do–yuuuuuup! totally bragging). When Talk Show released their first single, I hated it. I told my program director not to play it, that it was utter crap. But it’s 3/4 of STP!, everyone whined. I didn’t care, it was crap. And I was right, it was. Our station played the song for 3 weeks (I was forced) before it quickly fizzled out.

Then Muse comes out with their eponymous EP and I practically shove the single “Cave” into the ear of anyone who would let me (and some who wouldn’t). No one cared. They didn’t get it. I played it anyway, but I didn’t win a lot of people over. Well NOW look at Muse, I say! Maybe they weren’t good then but got better over time, you say. You’re wrong, I say, you should have listened to me earlier.

Anyway, the first time I heard Gotye‘s “Somebody I Used to Know” I heard hit. (I actually think the entire album is genius but it’s a bit experimental therefore may not have the wide appeal of “Somebody”.) I played the YouTube video over and over and over again. I loved Gotye, I loved Kimbra, I loved the artistry of the video, all of it. HIT. Until I saw Gotye’s remix “Somebodies”, I didn’t realize how many others agree! Definitely check out Gotye’s blog for attribution to each of the videos in his compilation, but here are just a few of my faves. (Note: not all of the following video links are in Gotye’s remix.)

The Original: Gotye “Somebody I Used to Know”

Gotye’s inspiration for “Somebodies”, Kutiman’s “Thru-you – 01 – Mother of All Funk Chords”

Gotye “Somebodies: A YouTube Orchestra”

Walk Off the Earth “Somebody I Used to Know” Cover

The Key of Awesome! – Spoof of Walk Off the Earth’s Cover of Gotye’s “Somebody I Used to Know”

And last, but SO not least…

Teddie Films “The Star Wars I Used to Know”

Those are just a few of my faves. Do you have any faves that you don’t see here? Link to them in the comments section! I’d love to see more. I love the creativity and the fun in ALL of these videos! They inspire me to be just as creative in my voiceover work. (See how I tied all of this in to voiceover? Boom. //drops microphone, walks away.)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Somebodies

  1. Pingback: Somebodies | Voiceover BlogTalk | Scoop.it

Leave a Reply

